Skip to content

Jobs

Working with jobs

You can create and use jobs to act on data that is parsed and stored in the online or archive repositories. Since the volumes in question can become very large over time, and due to inherent manipulation restrictions for data in use, or data in different stages of evolution, simple copying, moving or deletion of storage files is not recommended.

Navigate to Settings by pressing Alt Image button, in the top-right corner of the interface, then click Jobs > Jobs:

Alt Image

Jobs page opens allowing you to see the list of already defined jobs or create a new one. You will notice there are no pre-defined jobs in place.

Alt Image

  • Click on start job Alt Image button to execute a job. Start Job can be checked in Job Executions page described in the following section.

  • To delete a job from the list, press Alt Imagebutton next to it. As a measure of precaution, you will be asked to confirm deletion.

  • To mark a job as activate/inactivate, press Alt Image button.

You can create as many jobs as you want, with the only consideration to the load their execution will produce on the solution environment. Jobs can be very resource intensive for your server's processor, memory, storage and possibly network.

In the list of already-defined jobs, you are provided with details like the type of job, the server where is executed, and if it is active or not. Explanations on these details are given in section dedicated to creating a new job.

Creating a new job

Go back to Settings > Jobs > Jobs. In Jobs page, select Alt Image button and configuration page opens allowing you to create a new job:

Alt Image

Below described attributes are similar to those found in Edit Job configuration page. Please note the available options will change depending on the job type selected:

  • In Name field, type a name that identifies the newly created job. This name will appear in Jobs list.

  • In Description field, insert an explanatory job description.

  • In Server drop down allows you to choose the data server

  • Job Type drop-down allows you to choose between:

  • Import job: to import events from a source repository to an online repository or to an archive. Import jobs are very useful for consolidation operations, or when decommissioning obsolete repositories.

  • Delete job: to delete events from a repository. Deletions may be needed to free up space that is used by events from obsolete applications, or as a result of an import.

  • Copy job: allows you to copy data from one data storage to another. This operation is only possible between offline repositories and allows for data duplication

  • Right to be forgotten: is a special type of job allowing granular deletion of personal data based on filters. These jobs were introduced for compliance with data protection regulations.

  • Data Storage is always the source data storage, no matter which type of job you choose

  • Where to Import option for import/copy jobs, can be either an online or offline repository where the import takes place

  • Period Spec. Type drop-down allows you to choose between Start & End Date or Last 'x' units

  • Start Date and End Date allow you to define the time interval for which job execution will action.

  • Last 'x' units allows you to choose the most recent number of units, where a unit can be second, minute, hour, day, month or year.

  • Active allows you to mark a job as activate/inactivate

  • Use Filters allows you to add one or more filter groups, the group consists of an operator (AND, OR) and a filtering rule. The filter list is created on the Rules > Filter Rules section.

When you finished creating the job, press "Save" button to save changes or "Cancel" button to close the window without saving.

In the list below we have defined some examples of jobs:

Edit Job

For each job in the list, you can choose to edit, delete or execute the job. Click Alt Imageto edit the job. Edit Job page opens with configuration options similar to creating a new job. Perform any needed changes and click "Save" and close the page.

Alt Image

Managing job executions

Go to Settings > Jobs > Job Executions. Job Executions page opens allowing you to see the history of jobs that were executed, their result and also the summary of jobs that are currently in execution.

Alt Image

Deleting an execution from this list produces effects only if the job was not finished yet. As a general rule, it is advisable to wait for an execution to finish before deleting.