Skip to content

User and Group Management

Role Based Access Control (RBAC)

User accounts created can be configured to access components based on the user role assigned to their account. You can add or edit user roles nd user accounts as needed.

Add or edit User Roles

User roles are assigned to user accounts to control access in Web Interface. You can add or edit user roles as needed. Roles are assigned at group level.

In order to add or edit user roles:

a. Login to application with an administrative account.

b. Navigate to Settings by pressing Alt Image button, in the left-side of the interface, then click Users and groups > Groups.

Alt Image

c. Groups configuration page opens:

Alt Image

d. In Groups window, click Alt Image button and will open:

Alt Image

In the Name field, provide a name, such as Users Restricted Permissions.

In the Users field select the users that will be impacted by the predefined rules.

In the Assigned Permissions field select the appropriate permissions for the selected users.

In the Data Permissions field select the appropriate data the selected users can view.

e. By default the new group is enabled. Deactivate the group by selecting Alt Imageoption.

f. Press "Save" button to add new defined group and close the window or press "Cancel" button to close the window without saving changes. As an option, you can close the window without saving changes by clicking the Alt Image mark in top-right corner.

Delete User Groups

To delete a group, navigate to Settings by pressing Alt Image button, in the left-side of the interface, then click Users and groups > Groups. Press Alt Image icon and confirm deletion of desired group. The procedure is irreversible. Built-in groups cannot be deleted.

Edit User Groups

To edit a group, navigate to Settings by expanding Alt Image in the left-side of the interface, then click Users and groups > Groups. Press Alt Image icon. Edit group window is displayed where you can change group name, group members, assigned permissions and data permissions.

Alt Image

Changing group members, assigned permissions and data permissions is one by selecting or de-selecting objects in each drop-down list.

Alt Image

Press "Save" button to save changes and close the window or press "Cancel" button to close the window without saving changes. As an option, you can close the window without saving changes by clicking the Alt Image mark in top-right corner.

You can also change group status being Enabled or Disabled. Group status can be quickly changed from main Groups window by actioning on Active option button and selecting On or Off. In this case, changes are saved automatically.

Alt Image

For built-in groups you will only be allowed to add or remove members.

Dashboards migration

Each user can create his own dashgroups containing its own dashboards, but only an administrator can migrate a dashboard from a user to another. After creating a new user, an administrator can copy dashgroups from another user that already has dashgroups configured. To do this, follow the next steps:

a. Login to application with an administrative account.

b. Navigate to Settings by pressing Alt Image button, in the left-side of the interface, then click Users and groups > Users.

Alt Image

c. Users configuration page opens:

In Users window, select Copy dashgroups to user

Alt Image

d. In Users window, click Alt Image button and will open:

Alt Image

Check source and destination users from User where dashgroups are copied from and Users where to copy dashgroups drop-down lists. Select desired dashgroups from Dashgroups that are copied drop-down list and press "Save" button to save changes.

e. Logout from the administrative account and login with the new user account. After login is successful, the Dashboards module will show the new dashgroups selected during previous step.

Data permissions

CYBERQUEST provides data permissions options, which combined with the role-based access features offers a granulized control over the data made available for user members of a group. Data permissions are set at group level.

In order to change data permissions for an existing group, follow these steps:

a. Login to web interface with a user with administrative rights.

b. Navigate to Settings by pressing Alt Image button, in the left-side of the interface, then click Users and groups > Groups.

Alt Image

c. In Groups window, click Alt Image button for the group containing the user for which you want to change data permissions. Edit group window opens.

Alt Image

d. In Data Permissions field select or deselect on the appropriate data permissions. If no filter is selected, the user will have unrestricted access to all data available.

Alt Image

e. Press "Save" button to save changes and close the window or press "Cancel" button to close the window without saving changes. As an option, you can close the window without saving changes by clicking the Alt Image mark in top-right corner.